Important Note: SEAP (Security Equipment Assessment Panel) was renamed CPNI in 2013 so for all intents and purposes they are the same thing but many people still use the SEAP name, probably since it is slightly easier to remember.

Screen Shot 2015-03-09 at 12.06.06

Click to view


CPNI stands for Centre for the Protection of National Infrastructure. They have many documents that try to formalise the various standards for security applications. They have a specific document for Door Locks which includes Padlocks (see doc on right). After you have read the whole document it then refers to the various BSEN grades that specifically give testing standards for things like door locks, padlocks, doors etc. The BSEN standard for padlocks is BSEN12320. If you’re unfamiliar with this then see our article here.

The bottom line is that BSEN12320 follows a grading system called CEN (Central European Norm) which has grades from 1-6. You can see those on our website in the high security padlocks section. Confused yet? We wouldn’t blame you.

So to summarise:

  1. SEAP is actually CPNI
  2. CPNI doesn’t approve padlocks or make grades specifcially
  3. You need to follow the CEN grade system from 1-6 (6 being the highest)
  4. Insurance companies usually ask for grades  3, 4 or 5.


Example of graded padlocks (click to view):

ABUS ranit Padlocks ABUS Extreme Padlocks